6分钟阅读

2022年春季声明

 

2022年3月23日,财政大臣Rishi Sunak将发表2022年春季声明。虽然 "秋季声明 "是宣布税收和支出承诺的时间,但 "2022年春季声明 "提出了经济的最新情况,对政府财政承诺的预测,并可以表明需要做出的任何改变。

今年,预计重点是与大流行病有关的经济复苏,因俄罗斯入侵乌克兰而加剧的能源成本上升,以及对受生活费用危机影响最大的人的支持。这些确实是大问题。

但我想知道,财政大臣是否考虑过健康在经济复苏中的作用。通过对人口健康的投资,政府正在对更广泛的经济进行投资。通过投资于人口健康,政府正在提高卫生支出的生产力。

恢复英格兰公共卫生和疾病预防方面的实际支出水平的理由肯定是非常有说服力的。

通过投资于人口健康,政府正在投资于更广泛的经济。

证据表明,平均预期寿命每增加1年,人均GDP就增加4%。

健康的个体是。

 

1.更有可能在工作场所取得成效

2.更有可能享受更长的工作时间

3.更有能力在工作之外和晚年对社会做出贡献

4.更有可能活得更久,并作为消费者做出贡献

 

简而言之,更长的健康预期寿命与经济健康之间存在着强烈的因果关系。

通过投资于人口健康,政府正在提高卫生支出的生产力

春季声明

用于预防的每1英镑都会给卫生和社会保健经济带来14-15英镑的回报。

公共卫生支出比卫生治疗支出的生产力高三到四倍。

我们在国家健康与护理卓越研究所(NICE)和后来的英格兰公共卫生局有近二十年的审查证据的经验,有很多的例子和很多的工具。英格兰公共卫生局的 "卫生经济证据资源"(HEER)工具包括370多项干预措施,其中绝大多数都具有成本效益。

在英格兰恢复公共卫生和疾病预防的实际支出水平是非常有说服力的。

你知道吗?

- 与治疗方法相比,健康结果的变化由健康行为模式引起的可能性要大一倍以上,事实上,健康结果变化的最大驱动力是卫生系统参数以外的因素,如环境、教育、住房、就业等;以及

- 预防支出比治疗支出的效益高3到4倍。

尽管如此,在2019年,英国卫生支出 的5%用于预防保健。这在经合组织国家中比较好。非常好。然而,在2252亿英镑的总支出中,我们只花了108亿英镑用于预防。我们知道,由于COVID-19的大流行,2020/22年度的卫生支出总体上急剧增加。

我们还不知道这对预防工作在卫生支出中的比例产生了什么影响。但我们知道,在此期间,英格兰的公共卫生拨款一直保持固定,没有公布增加拨款的计划。

最后的反思

我明白,我真的明白。如果政府能够通过 "地方 "的综合保健和护理委员会鼓励在地方一级从治疗转向预防,那么它将显示出在不增加整体预算的情况下增加预防支出的份额。但是,我真的很难看出投资资金,在所需的规模上,如何能够从我们医院和社区卫生服务所面临的直接压力中释放出来。

我们有600万人在等待名单上,在Covid-19大流行期间积累的未诊断的健康问题的海啸,以及前所未有的年内效率目标。对急需的病人的护理也必须是一个优先事项。

在财政大臣试图平衡账目的同时,我们希望可以通过对人口健康的战略投资来资助预防工作,将其作为国家优先事项,同时也保护健康治疗的开支。

参考文献

Alsan, M. Bloom, D. Canning, D 和 Jamison, D:《人口健康对经济表现的影响》。哈佛大学,2006年10月

David E. Bloom Michael Kuhn Klaus PrettnerHealth and Economic Growth, IZA DP No. 11939, Harvard University and IZA November 2018

Masters R, Anwar E, Collins B, et al.Return on Investment of public health interventions: a systematic review.(2017)

Stephen Martin, James Lomas, Karl Claxton:一盎司的预防胜过一磅的治疗吗?英国公共卫生拨款对死亡率和发病率影响的估计CHE研究论文 166

https://www.healthaffairs.org/doi/pdf/10.1377/hlthaff.21.2.78

https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/healthandsocialcare/healthcaresystem/datasets/healthaccountsreferencetables

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/health-economics-evidence-resource

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/health-economics-a-guide-for-public-health-teams

正在加载...
0
希望你的想法,请评论。x

6 min read

Spring Statement 2022

 

On 23rd March 2022, the Chancellor of the Exchequer, Rishi Sunak, will present his Spring Statement 2022. Whilst the “Autumn Statement” is a time for announcing tax and spending commitments, the ‘Spring Statement 2022” presents an update on the economy, forecasts of government financial commitments and can signal any changes which need to be made.

This year, the focus is expected to be on pandemic related economic recovery, the escalating costs of energy, exacerbated by the Russian invasion of Ukraine, and support for those most affected by the cost-of-living crisis. These are indeed big issues.

I am wondering though, whether the Chancellor has given some thought to the role of health in the economic recovery. By investing in population health, the government is investing in the wider economy. By investing in population health, the government is increasing the productivity of health spending.

The case for restoring real spending levels on public health and illness prevention in England must surely be very compelling.

By investing in population health, the government is investing in the wider economy.

The evidence suggests that a 1-year increase in average life expectancy increases GDP per capita by 4%.

Individuals who are healthy are:

1. More likely to be productive in the workplace

2. More likely to enjoy working for longer

3. More able to contribute to society outside work and in later years of life

4. More likely to live longer and contribute as consumers

 

In short, there is a strong causal relationship between longer healthier life expectancy and economic health.

By investing in population health, the government is increasing the productivity of health spending.
health spending spring statement 2022

Every £1 spent on prevention generates a £14 – £15 return to the health and social care economy.

Public health expenditure is between three and four times more productive than health treatment expenditure.

We have nearly two decades of experience in National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) and latterly Public Health England of reviewing the evidence and there are lots of examples and lots of tools! Public Health England ‘Health Economic Evidence Resource’ (HEER) tool includes over 370 interventions the overwhelming majority of which are cost effective.

The case for restoring real spending levels on public health and illness prevention in England is very compelling.

Did you know:

– Variations in health outcomes are over twice as likely to be caused by health behaviour patterns, compared to treatments, and indeed the largest driver of variation in health outcomes are factors outside the parameters of the health system such as environment, education, housing, employment and so on; and

– Prevention spending is between 3 and 4 times more productive than treatment spending.

Despite this, in 2019 5% of UK health spending was on preventative care. This compares well across OECD countries. Very well. However, out of a total spend of £225.2bn, we spent only £10.8bn on prevention. We know health spending overall has dramatically increased in 2020/22 as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

We don’t yet know what impact this has had on prevention as a share of health spending. But we do know that the public health grant has remained fixed in England throughout this period and there are no published plans to increase it.

Final reflections.

I get it, I really do. If the government can encourage a shift from treatment to prevention at the local level through Integrated Health and Care Boards at “Place” then it will show an increase in the share of spending on prevention without increasing budgets overall.  But I really struggle to see how investment funding, at the scale needed, can ever be released from the immediate pressures facing our hospital and community health services.

We have 6 million people on the waiting list, a tsunami of undiagnosed health issues which have built up during the Covid-19 pandemic, and un-precedented in-year efficiency targets. Care for patients in immediate need must be a priority too.

While the Chancellor is trying to balance the books we hope that prevention can be funded by a strategic investment in population health as a national priority, whilst also protecting spending on health treatment.

References

Alsan, M. Bloom, D. Canning, D and Jamison, D: The Consequences of Population Health for Economic Performance: Harvard, October 2006

David E. Bloom Michael Kuhn Klaus Prettner Health and Economic Growth, IZA DP No. 11939, Harvard University and IZA November 2018

Masters R, Anwar E, Collins B, et al. Return on investment of public health interventions: a systematic review. (2017)

Stephen Martin, James Lomas, Karl Claxton: Is an Ounce of Prevention Worth a Pound of Cure? Estimates of the Impact of English Public Health Grant on Mortality and Morbidity CHE Research Paper 166

https://www.healthaffairs.org/doi/pdf/10.1377/hlthaff.21.2.78

https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/healthandsocialcare/healthcaresystem/datasets/healthaccountsreferencetables

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/health-economics-evidence-resource

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/health-economics-a-guide-for-public-health-teams

Loading...